General News

15 Appointed To Council of State

President Akufo-Addo has appointed fifteen persons to serve on the Council of State pursuant Article 89(2)(a)(I)(ii) (iii) and (b) of the constitution of Ghana.

In a press release issued by the Acting Director of Communications at the Office of the President, the appointment included “Nana Otuo Siriboe II, Juabenhene, Archbishop Justice Ofei Akrofi, Mr. Sam Okudzeto, Mr. Stanley Blankson, Prof. Ato Essuman, Alhaji Aminu Amadu, Dr. Magret Amoakohene, Mrs. Georgina Kusi, Mr. Alberta Cudjoe, Kuoro Richard Babiri Kanton VI and Alhaji Sule Yeremiah, Georgina Theodora Wood, a former Chief Justice, Lt. Gen J. B. Danquah, a former Chief of Defence Staff of the Ghana Armed Forces, and Nana Owusu Nsiah, a former Inspector General of Police. The President of the National House of Chiefs, Ogyeahohoo Yaw Gyebi II, is a member of the Council”

According to the statement, an election will be held on 12th February, 2021 to duly select regional representatives to the council as fashioned by Article 89(2)(c) of the 1992 constitution of Ghana.

Below is a copy of the press release:

Source: Hajara Fuseini

Related Articles

Back to top button