February 6, 2023

NDC Parliamentary Reshuffle: Muntaka Submits

The Member of Parliament for Asawase Constituency, Muntaka Mubarak has submitted to the reshuffle of the Parliamentary leaders of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC).


It came as a surprise when Minority leader Haruna Iddrisu was replaced with Cassiel Ato Forson; Deputy Minority Leader James Klutse Avedzi with Kofi Armah Buah; and Minority Chief Whip Muntaka Mubarak with Kwame Agboza.


The 137 NDC legislators were torn by the changes which were announced two weeks ago by the executives of the party.


Meetings between the national executives of the party and the parliamentary caucus over the development were postponed several times due to tensions.


But in a Facebook post on Monday, february 6, Muntaka Mubarak indicated he has accepted the changes.


According to him, this position was taken after a meeting with former President John Dramani Mahama over the weekend.


“To all our supporters within and without. I had a lengthy meeting with my big brother, His Excellency John Dramani Mahama, on Saturday evening over the parliamentary reshuffle.”


He also hinted that the intervention of the defeated 2020 flagbearer of the NDC has quelled the anger of lawmakers who opposed the changes.


“His Excellency’s intervention has brought an end to all the brouhaha associated with the reshuffle.”


According to him, the NDC MPs will now “channel all our energies towards 2024 elections”.


Muntaka showed appreciation to Mr Mahama and the people who supported him.


Parliament will reconvene on Tuesday, February 7, 2023.



Source: opemsuo.com/Hajara Fuseini


Prev Post

Eduwatch: 1.3 Million Desks Urgently Needed Across Ghana

Next Post

Ghanaians Pray For Christian Atsu