EducationLocal News

PRESEC Wins NSMQ Record 8th Time

Presbyterian Boys Senior High School (PRESEC) has extended their National Science and Maths Quiz (NSMQ) victories to record eight.

After coming head-on with Opoku Ware School (OWASS) and Achimota School (MOTOWN) in the finals on Monday, the PRESEC thrived with 40 points leaving their contenders behind for the last two places.

With 28 points, Achimota School took second place and Opoku Ware School came third with 23 points.

This is their second consecutive wins after lifting the trophy last year. In 2008 and 2009 also, they raised the trophies- the only school to reach this feat.

They go down into the books as winners in 1995, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2020, 2022 and now 2023.

PRESEC pocketed GH¢70,000, while Achimota School and Opoku Ware received GH¢50,000 and GH¢35,000 respectively.

OWASS last won the trophy in 2002 and had their hopes of ending their 23-year thirst this year dashed. They clutched their first win in 1997.

Meanwhile, MOTOWN won their first and second titles in 1998 and 2004 respectively but have to their name three first runner-up titles.

NMSQ organized by Prime Time Limited began in 1993. During the maiden edition, the quiz was won by embattled five-time winner Prempeh College.

The competition celebrated its three-decade existence this year.

Related Articles

Back to top button