January 27, 2023

Haruna Iddrisu: I Don’t Own Social Media Accounts

Former Minority Leader in Parliament, Haruna Iddrisu has disclaimed ownership of any social media account and information channelled through these accounts in his name.

In a disclaimer, the Member of Parliament for Tamale South said his attention has been drawn to information circulating on Facebook and Twitter attributed to him.

A Twitter account sighted by opemsuo.com under the name Haruna Iddrisu has a bio that reads “Official Twitter account of Hon Haruna Iddrisu, Member of Parliament for Tamale South Constituency”.

The account was created in 2019 and has been posting pictures of the MP ever since with inspirational captions. It has 13,000 followers including MP for South Dayi Constituency, Rockson Nelson Dafeamekpor, and follows just 6 people.

Following Haruna Iddrisu’s removal from his position, the account posted, “Never let a wishbone grow where a backbone should be. I will, and forever serve my country”.

But in the disclaimer, he noted that he has never owned a social media account nor has he caused one to be opened in his name.


“My attention has been drawn to information circulating on social media, particularly on Facebook and Twitter, purporting to be emanating from me and using my image to issue series of statements in my name.

“For the record, I wish to state that the said Facebook and Twitter Accounts do not belong to me and that I have never owned a Facebook or Twitter Account neither have I caused any such Account to be opened and operated in my name. Indeed, I have never been on social media. I have never had or caused to be opened and operated in my name, any form of social media Account.”

He, therefore, established that the said accounts are “FAKE” as well as the posts.

Calling on the public to disregard them, the legislator stated that the creation of the accounts and the posts were “attempts by detractors to sow seeds of discontent within the hierarchy of the Party and to smear my person but they shall definitely FAIL”.

Haruna Iddrisu has been replaced with Cassiel Ato Forson, MP for Ajumako-Enyan-Essiam Constituency, as Minority Leader in Parliament by the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC).


Source: opemsuo.com/hajara Fuseini

Prev Post

Akufo-Addo Appoints New Chief Of Air Staff

Next Post

MoF Welcomes Auditor General’s Covid Report