We Have Good Blend Of Parliamentary Candidates- Akufo-Addo

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has touted the calibre of elected parliamentary candidates of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) calling them “a good blend of experienced and youthful” parliamentary candidates.

He is confident the “blend” is enough to give the NPP a third term in office should all losing aspirants throw their weight behind them.

“The time-tested, honoured tradition that has kept the NPP as one indissoluble unit demands that the victor receives the unalloyed support of the candidates who were not successful at the polls. If we are to Break the Eight, which I know is very possible, then we must stay true to this tradition, unite firmly behind our excellent presidential candidate and formidable parliamentary candidates, and deliver another resounding victory for the party, and, thereby, continue the process of bringing progress and prosperity to every part of our country, an endeavour on which we are already fully embarked.”

“We have elected a good blend of experienced and youthful parliamentary candidates, whom I warmly congratulate, and who, I am confident, will help secure a majority for the NPP in the ninth Parliament of the 4th Republic, and help return an NPP presidential candidate into office on 7th January 2025.”

In his message to both the losers and winners on Sunday, the President urged both sides to conduct themselves well before the Ghanaians, strengthen their organisation, and win the 2024 elections.

In his observation of the polls which took place on January 27, the President commended stakeholders for the good work done.

“I extend warm congratulations to the rank and file of the party, and applaud all stakeholders – the national, regional, constituency, electoral area and polling station executives of the party, the Electoral Commission, the security services and the media- for a job well done.”

The NPP’s parliamentary primaries saw many greats fall. A total of 28 incumbent MPs around the country lost, including Freda Premepeh of Tano North Constituency, Isaac Asiamah of Atwima Mponuah constituency and Sarah Adwoa Sarfo of Dome Kwabenya constituency.

Below Is a List of Retained and Ousted MPs:

NPP Parliamentary Primaries

Related Articles

Back to top button