NPP Revokes Membership Of Buaben Asamoa, Hopeson Adorye, 2 Others

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has terminated the membership of four Alan Kyerematen faithfuls including Hopeson Adorye, Nana Ohene Ntow, Boniface Abubakar Saddique and Yaw Buaben Asamoa.

This was communicated in a statement on Monday by the General Secretary, Justin Kodua Frimpong.

According to the statement, the memberships of the four were automatically terminated following their open declaration against the elected Presidential candidate of the Party, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia.

“The leadership of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has taken notice of recent activities of Hopeson Adorye, Yaw Buaben Asamoa, Nana Ohene Ntow and Boniface Abubakar Saddique which includes publicly endorsing the candidature of a person other than the duly elected Presidential Candidate of the Party; His Excellency Dr. Alhaji Mahamudu Bawumia,” a part of the statement said.

Their action, it noted, authorizes the termination of their membership per Article 3(9)(1) of the Constitution provides which states that “A Member of the Party, who stands as an independent candidate against the officially elected member of the Party, or who joins or declares his or her support for another Political Party, or for an independent candidate, when the Party has sponsored a candidate in a general or by-election, automatically forfeits his or her membership of the Party.”

“In line with these constitutional provisions, it is the view of the NPP that Hopeson Adorye, Nana Ohene Ntow, Boniface Abubakar Saddique and Yaw Buaben Asamoa have AUTOMATICALLY FORFEITED their membership of the Party. They are, therefore, no longer members of the Party,” the statement declared.

All four candidates during the early days of the NPP’s flagbearership race endorsed Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen who later defected to go sole in the 2024 Presidential election of Ghana.

Yaw Boaben Asamoa is a former Communication Director of the NPP and before the cession of Alan was his Campaign Lead while Hopeson was a member of the campaign team.

Nana Ohene Ntow, was the Former General Secretary of New Patriotic Party (NPP) while Boniface Abubakar Saddique works as a Minister of State at the Office of the Vice President- all throwing their weight behind Alan while he raced in the NPP.

Related Articles

Back to top button