Evelyn Badu, Comfort Yeboah, Others Earn CAF Award Nominations

Five Ghanaian female players including the Black Queens’ Evelyn Badu have been nominated by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) for various awards this year.

Evelyn who won the 2022 CAF inter-club best female footballer this time around has been nominated for Player of the Year Award together with 29 others including Nigeria and Barcelona’s Asisat Oshoala and Cameroon’s Ajara Nchout Njoya.

Meanwhile, Tracy Twum who hatched a brace in Ampem Darkoa Ladies’ last CAF Champion’s league group game against Huracanes has been nominated for Interclub Player of the Year together with sensation Comfort Yeboah- who facilitated the Ampem Darkoa’s 2-1 victory against defending Champions AS Far in their first group match.

In the Young Player of the Year category, Comfort Yeboah bagged another nomination with her teammate Mary Amponsah.

Ampem Darkoa also received a nomination for Club of the Year with their head coach, Nana Joe Adarkwa getting nominated for CAF Coach of the Year.

Additionally, Coach Nora Hauptel had her unbeaten Black Queens also nominated among the lucky 10 senior teams for the National Team of the Year category. Since the Swiss Coach’s takeover, the Queens have scored 26 goals without conceding any in seven games including the Olympic qualifiers.

According to CAF, the winner of each category will be decided after votes from a voting panel consisting of the CAF Technical Committee, media professionals from Member Associations, Head Coaches and Captains of Member Associations and clubs involved at the group stages of the Interclub competitions.

Below Are All Categories and Nominees:
Player of the Year (Women)
1. Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon, Internazionale Milano)
2. Evelyn Badu (Ghana, Avaldnes)
3. Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi, Paris Saint-Germain)
4. Temwa Chawinga (Malawi, Wuhan Jiangda)
5. Anissa Lahmari (Morocco, Levante Las Planas)
6. Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)
7. Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)
8. Ibtissam Jraidi (Morocco, AS FAR/Al Ahli)
9. Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)
10. Zenatha Coleman (Namibia, Fenerbahce)
11. Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)
12. Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)
13. Christy Ucheibe (Nigeria, Benfica)
14. Osinachi Ohale (Nigeria, Alaves/Pachuca)
15. Rasheedat Ajibade (Nigeria, Atletico Madrid)
16. Toni Payne (Nigeria, Sevilla)
17. Uchenna Kanu (Nigeria, Tigres/Racing Louisville)
18. Ndeye Awa Diakhaté (Senegal, Olympique de Marseille)
19. Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)
20. Hilda Magaia (South Africa, Sejong Sportstoto)
21. Jermaine Seoposenwe (South Africa, Juarez/Monterrey)
22. Linda Motlhalo (South Africa, Glasgow City)
23. Refiloe Jane (South Africa, Sassuolo)
24. Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa, Racing Louisville)
25. Afi Sabine Woedikou (Togo, Strasbourg/Nantes)
26. Sabrina Ellouzi (Tunisia, Excelsior)
27. Fazila Ikwaput (Uganda, Kampala Queens)
28. Barbara Banda (Zambia, Shanghai Shengli)
29. Grace Chanda (Zambia, Madrid CFF)
30. Rachael Kundananji (Zambia, Madrid CFF)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women)
1. Ange Bawou (Cameroon, Bayelsa Queens/ BIIK-Shymkent)
2. Dolores Hernandez Masongo (Equatorial Guinea, Huracanes)
3. Imane Abdelahad (Morocco, SC Casablanca)
4. Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)
5. Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)
6. Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)
7. Kaylin Swart (South Africa, JVW)
8. Najiat Abass Idrisa (Tanzania, JKT Queens)
9. Catherine Musonda (Zambia, Tomiris Turan)
10. Cynthia Shongwe (Zimbabwe, Harare City)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)
1. Refilwe Tholakele (Botswana, Mamelodi Sundowns)
2. N’Guessan Nadege Koffi (Cote d’Ivoire, SC Casablanca)
3. Elena Oyana (Equatorial Guinea, Huracanes)
4. Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
5. Tracy Twum (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
6. Oumou Kone (Mali, AS Mande)
7. Aziza Rabbah (Morocco, AS FAR)
8. Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)
9. Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)
10. Lebohang Ramalepe (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Young Player of the Year (not more than 21 years)
1. Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
2. Mary Amponsah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
3. Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)
4. Deborah Abiodun (Nigeria, Pittsburg Panthers)
5. Esther Opeyemi Ajakaye (Nigeria, Delta Queens)
6. Oluwatosin Demehin (Nigeria, Stade Reims)
7. Hapsatou Malado Diallo (Senegal, USPA/Eibar)
8. Thubelihle Shamase (South Africa, University of Johannesburg FC)
9. Winifreda Gerald (Tanzania, JKT Queens)
10. Fauzia Najjemba (Uganda, Dynamo Moscow)

Coach of the Year (Women)
1. Nana Joe Adarkwa (Ampem Darkoa)
2. Lovemore Fazili (Malawi)
3. Mehdi El Qaichouri (SC Casablanca)
4. Mohamed Amine Alioua (AS FAR)
5. Reynald Pedros (Morocco)
6. Randy Waldrum (Nigeria)
7. Mame Moussa Cisse (Senegal)
8. Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
9. Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)
10. Esther Chabruma (JKT Queens)

National Team of the Year (Women)
1. Burkina Faso
2. Burundi
3. Ghana
4. Malawi
5. Morocco
6. Nigeria
7. Senegal
8. South Africa
9. Tanzania
10. Zambia

Club of the Year (Women)
1. Athletico d’Abidjan (Cote d’Ivoire)
2. Huracanes (Equatorial Guinea)
3. Ampem Darkoa (Ghana)
4. AS Mande (Mali)
5. AS FAR (Morocco)
6. SC Casablanca (Morocco)
7. Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
8. JKT Queens (Tanzania)

Related Articles

Back to top button