General News

Constituencies In Ghana Now 276

A new constituency has been birthed in Ghana after the maturity of the Electoral Commission’s (EC) Constitutional Instrument (CI).

The instrument matured on Wednesday, November 29 and therefore gave rise to the Guan Constituency.

This means that Ghana now has 276 constituencies. It also means the people of Santrokofi, Akpafu, Likpe, and Lolobi will exercise their franchise for the first time since the new regions were formed.

After the Oti Region was carved out of the Volta Region in 2018, the Guan District was created as an administrative district following a Legislative Instrument laid in Parliament by the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development in 2019.

The District was carved out of the Hohoe Municipality and inaugurated with its capital as Lipke-Mate.

This has necessitated the creation of a constituency there. During the 2020 General Elections, the residents of the new district which comprises Santrokofi, Akpafu, Likpe, and Lolobi (SALL) were disenfranchised as the new constituency had not been created.

This was because the EC could not present the Constitutional Instrument (CI) to Parliament for the creation on time.

In the bid not to disenfranchise them for the second time, the EC presented the CI to Parliament on October 31, 2023.


Related Articles

Back to top button