March 15, 2023

Prez Awards Individuals For Role In Covid Fight

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has honoured some Ghanaians for their role in the fight against the Covid-19 pandemic during its peak a few years ago.

These individuals included researchers, scientists, advisors, public health managers, front-line health care workers, hospital staff, contact tracers, the security services, public and private sector agencies, faith-based organisations, chieftaincy institutions, charitable organizations and several others.


At the event which took place at the Accra International Conference Centre (AICC) on March 14, 2023, President Akufo-Addo indicated that the country’s success in winning the fight against COVID-19 is a testament to the tireless work of the selected individuals.


He noted that the award was a “purely national event devoid of partisan, ethnic or religious considerations”.

Maritime Boundary Dispute

Awards were also presented to legal practitioners who fought at the Special Chamber of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (ITLOS) to help the country maintain possession of western maritime resources, including its oil and gas potential against Cote d’Ivoire.


President Akufo-Addo emphasised that the victory against Cote d’Ivoire was through the efforts of successive administrations.


“Today is not only about our success against COVID. Our victory in maritime boundary dispute could not have been achieved through the actions of one person, one political party or one government.”


He noted that the award was to “express our sincere appreciation and gratitude”.



President Akufo-Addo presented citations, plagues, medals and sashes to honour the selected persons.


In all, 19,557 health workers across the 16 regions were recognised, however, they were represented by 46 individuals during the event.

The members of the Board Of Trustees For The Covid-19 National Trust Fund; the Covid-19 Private Sector Fund support Team; Institutions and Faith-based Organisation; Companies; 449 donors to the Covid-19 trust fund and many others were recognised.


Also were the late Prof. Johnson Kwame Wiredu, Ms Margaret Sophia Darkwah, the first female Commissioner of Police; Prof Akwasi Osei, former Chief Executive of the Mental Health Authority; and Dr Veronica Agartha Martinson, former Executive Director of the Cocoa Research Institute, Ghana. 


Several others were also recognised by the President.


Source: Fuseini

Prev Post

Argentina Inflation Soars Past 100% Mark

Next Post

Ghana Maritime Boundary Dispute Resolution: Two “Decline” Prez National Honour