World News

12 Countries Who Have Qualified For 2024 WAFCON

Twelve nations have qualified for the 15th edition of the biennial Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON) organized by the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

The final qualifiers were played on Tuesday, December 5, 2023.

Ghana, South Africa, DR Congo, Botswana, Tunisia, Senegal, Tanzania, Zambia, Morocco, Algeria, Mali and Nigeria have qualified for the 2024 WAFCON.

South Africa will be seeking to defend their title after progressing for the tournament following their 1-1 draw in the final leg of their qualifier against Burkina Faso at the Lucas Moripe Stadium on Monday.

During the finals of the 2022 tournament, the Banyana Banyana defeated Morocco thanks to a brace by Hildah Magaia and won their first gold medal after earning silver medals in 2000, 2008, 2012 and 2018.

Nigeria hold the highest title having won the tournament 11 times. After advancing to the semi-finals in 2022, Nigeria lost the bronze medal to Zambia.

The tournament will be hosted by Morocco for the second time in a row in 2024.

Related Articles

Back to top button