SP Gets Governing Board 9 Months After Taking Office

Ghana’s second Special Prosecutor, Kissi Agyebeng has finally been equipped with a governing board months after being sworn into office by the President of Ghana, Nana Addo Danquah Akufo-Addo in 2021.

The nine-member board was sworn in by the Attorney-General and Minister for Justice, Godfred Yeboah Dame on June 21, 2022, per section 5 of the OSP Act (Act 959).

Per the Act, members of the board must include the Special Prosecutor, the Deputy Special Prosecutor, as well as representatives from the Ghana Police Service, the Audit Service, Economic and Organised Crime Office (EOCO), the Commission on Human Rights and Administrative Justice( CHRAJ), the Financial Intelligence Centre (FIC), the Ministry of National Security and one person who is a female representing the Anti-Corruption Civil Society Organisations.

The members of the board include; Kissi Agyebeng, Cynthia Jane N. Lamptey, Lawrence Ndaago, DCOP Winfred Boahen Frimpong, Aba Jacqueline Opoku, Kofi Boadi A. Boakye, Stephen Azantilow, COP George Tuffuor and Linda Ofori-Kwafo.

The Board per the Act will formulate policies necessary for the achievement of the object of the office; ensure the proper and effective performance of the functions of the office; advise the Special Prosecutor on the recruitment and selection of the Secretary and other senior staff of the Office; develop and monitor implementation of a code of conduct for staff of the Office; facilitate cooperation between the Office and relevant national investigative bodies to ensure the property and effective performance of the functions of the Office; and advise the Special Prosecutor on any policy matters that may be referred to the Board by the Special Prosecutor.

However, Section 6(2) of Act 959 provides that the Board shall not interfere in the day-to-day functions of the Office.

Source: Fuseini

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.