General News

NDC Denies Favouring Appointees Of The President

Leadership of the National Democratic Congress in Parliament has debunked claims that they approved the three ministerial nominees they initially rejected over consideration of favor and influence.

Three ministerial nominees of the Akufo-Addo led government were rejected by the NDC members of the Appointment Committee of Parliament after vetting.

However, the three including, the Minister for Information, Mr. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Minister for Agriculture, Dr. Afriyie Akoto and Minister for Fisheries and Acquaculture, Hon. Hawa Koomson were later approved by the House.

Following this development, supporters of the National Democratic Congress has expressed their disappointment in their representatives in parliament with some alleging this was due to influence.

In a statement signed by minority leader, Hon. Haruna Iddrisu, the NDC said, “the caucus has never been for sale and will never be for sale. We categorically deny allegations of influence or favor as a consideration for approval in the house.”

It also emphasised their commitment to ensuring accountability on the part of the Akufo-Addo administration.

“We expressly resolve our commitment to hold the Nana-Addo government to account over the coming days, months and years for their stewardship to the people of Ghana”, the statement said.

Below is a copy of the full statement:

Source: Hajara Fuseini

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button